Mule formed in Ann Arbor, Michigan in 1991, anchored by former Wig member P.W. Long. The band's other members, Kevin Munro and Jim Kimball, had been members of the Laughing Hyenas. This lineup recorded the band's self-titled debut, which was produced by Steve Albini and released on Chicago record label Quarterstick Records itself a division of indie super label Touch and Go.

Kimball left the group in 1994 to join The Denison/Kimball Trio, and Daniel Jacob Wilson joined the group for their follow-up releases. If I Don't Six followed in 1995.

Mule self produced and released two singles on Detroit's independent Nocturnal records. The first is Tennessee Hustler, backed by Black Bottom. The second was the I'm Hell single backed by a glorious cover of the Bee Gee's To Love Somebody. Next up is "Charger" from the Jabberjaw compilation.

Long split the band up in 1996 to go solo. He formed P.W. Long's Reelfoot in 1997 with Mac McNeilly from the Jesus Lizard.

P.W. Long - guitar, vocals
Kevin Munro - bass
Jim Kimball - drums (1991–1994)
Daniel Jacob Wilson - drums (1994–1995)
Jason Kourkounis - drums (1995–1996)

1992 - I'm Hell Single Quarterstick Records

1992 - Mule Quarterstick Records

1992 - Tennessee Hustler Single) Nocturnal Records

1994 - If I Don't Six CD LP Quarterstick Records

1994 - Wrung EP Quarterstick Records

1997 - Soul Sound Single Single Laff & Go Records Sides 11-14 (2x7", Pur) Skin Graft Records, Gasoline Boost Records 2008

Also Appears On:

1993 - Dead End Destiny Compilation Tennessee Hustler

1994 - Jabberjaw Compilation - Good To The Last Drop (CD, Comp) Charger Mammoth Records

1996 - Metallurgy2 - Reasons To Be Fearful (CD, Comp) Charger Hard Stuff Division

2006 - Sweet Fifteen - 1991 To 2006 Mississippi Breaks Rough Trade Records

11 products

11 products